General Information

Official website: Capital: Erbil (also known as Hawler) Official Languages: Kurdish (Sorani and Kurmanji dialects) and Arabic, as well as Turcoman and Assyrian in some areas. Major Holiday: Newroz (Kurdish New Year), March 21 Government: Parliamentary Democracy President: Masoud Barzani Prime Minister: Barham Salih Speaker of the Parliament: Kemal Kirkuki Land Mass: 80,000 sq. km/30,888 sq. mi., about the size of South Carolina. Population: 3.8 million (2006) Population in each of the Region’s three provinces: Currency: Iraqi Dinar (IQD) Time Zone: UTC+3 UTC+4 (Summer DST) Calling Code: +964
Background pattern
Layout style